It WAS the Best of Times….

It is indeed true that time flies when you’re having fun or when your life is going well.

Image

Some of the biggest changes in my life happened this year.  All for the better, as far as I’m concerned. 

I decided to take on the ultimate challenge this year – get in shape, get back on skates, and get on one of the world’s premiere roller derby leagues.  At almost 35, one failed derby attempt under my belt, and no athletic ability to speak of, this was not going to be easy.  Which, at this juncture, is what I wanted.  Words come easy to me.  Writing ad copy or short stories or press releases comes easily to me.  Knocking into another girl using only my hips and my guts does not come easily.

So, this coming year, my goal is to run more (one 5K signed up for already) and to roster as a member of the Naptown Roller Girls’ Third Alarm. 

I changed jobs this year and became a copywriter.  It’s great to work in a place that is low-key (jeans are encouraged) where the people are fun and creative.  I’m looking forward to expanding my writing services on several fronts as well.

Image

I ran my first 5K in October (then went to scrimmage).  My time was just over 36 minutes, the fastest I’ve ever run.  My goal for 2014 is to get that down to at least 34 (if not 30 flat). 

We had a fantastic time exploring “America’s Wang” (aka Florida).  

Image

We spent a day with our friends driving to Key West (this was taken in Islamorada).  We spent several days in Lauderdale-By-the-Sea in a beautiful condo on the beach, then spent two days in the Tampa area. 

Overall, it was a year to takes risks.  Ones that paid off.

I also learned how to be a better friend. 

Conclusions from this year:

1. You can inspire others by simple acts of support and kindness.

2. Just because you fall once doesn’t mean you won’t get back up.

3. The greatest friends are the ones who love you for who you are, flaws and all, and who are kind enough to make sure you’re okay when the sh** hits the fan.  

4.  Your past is not indicative of who you are.  How you behave now is what sets the tone.  Everyone changes and grows as we get older.

5. Some people simply never grow up. 

On a final note, I had the chance to see two of my all-time favorite musicians – Kristen Hersh in the spring and Johnny Marr in the fall.  At the Johnny Marr show, he played a cover of the Bobby Fuller Four’s “I Fought the Law (and the Law Won).”  It is my Dad’s favorite song of all time and I cried.  It was then followed up by “Getting Away With It,” the classic track originally done by Marr, Bernard Sumner, and Neil Tennant of the Pet Shop Boys. 

 

Image

That about sums it up….

 

 

 

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, running, music, or whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

