Goodwill Hunting – Volume One

I can’t lie – I love Goodwill. I’ve been an avid thrift/consignment shopper my entire life.

In the last few years, I’ve found my tastes have shifted toward higher-end labels and designers.  I find fashion to be like an art.

I also find thrift shopping to be its own artistic outlet.  My stress relief is searching rack after rack at Goodwill in what I like to call “high-end hunting.”  It astounds me that people would get rid of designer labels.  Then again, their loss is our gain….and all we shoppers have to do is find it!

I went to the Goodwill near 86th and Michigan Road this past weekend and lucked out twice!

ImageFirst, I spied a black vintage sweater.  While a little small for me, what drew my eye was the Prada label.

ImagePrada is a storied Italian fashion house.  I couldn’t resist – even if I couldn’t wear it, I could find a home for it somewhere.

Then, as my husband began making noises about leaving, I took a peek at the women’s blazer aisle. Imagine my surprise (and delight) to find a vintage Christian Dior blazer.  Image

Dior has been in business for decades (again, a storied fashion house out of Europe).

I walked out with both items, spending about $12.  I got a cool new blazer, a Prada I can repair and sell, and the money goes back into Central Indiana.

This is not the first time I’ve lucked into high fashion at Goodwill – I’ve found Armani, Juicy Couture, Heatherette, and Burberry, to name a few.  All real and all at very affordable prices!

Image

You’d be surprised what you can find if you’re willing to hunt for it!  Stick around – I’ll keep sharing my fashion finds!  Shopping for a good cause never goes out of style!

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, roller derby, running, and whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

