The Mourning Period

As my life takes on radical new changes (marriage, settling down), I can’t help but be a little wistful about the past.

Specifically, friendships that came through my life and disappeared almost as quickly as they began.

I was lamenting these feelings to a mutual friend and she told me it is okay to feel this way – it’s like a break-up. It’s a loss, so therefore we tend to process it the same way we would when any other relationship comes to its final crescendo.

At the same time, there’s a certain irony to it – the same friends who turned on me, called me names, the usual propaganda – have said equally horrible things about the “friends” they have now (descriptive words like “trying” and “overdramatic” came into play).

When it comes down to it, perhaps the same friends I am mourning were never really that great from the out-set.

I feel lucky these days – I’m surrounded by such positive energy and so many positive people that the dark drama of the last part of the last decade seems like a hazy dream. Perhaps the positive energy itself is my reward for forcefully pushing all the drama out of my life.

 

 

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, running, music, or whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

