My Valentine

It’s been awhile since I wrote here, so I thought I’d catch you up on this Valentine’s Day.

While I hate this holiday with a fiery passion because of it’s clear discriminatory nature, it’s nice to have a special someone. He’s stuck with me through one of the toughest periods of my life (the last six months). He’s seen me at my worst (my rock-bottom, crying my heart out worst). I’m extremely lucky to have found such a wonderful man (and his two silly pups). 

Back to the present – I start a new job Monday morning! I feel incredibly blessed to have found such a great position to take on (hint: cluck cluck cluck). It also signals my retirement (for good) from radio. I’ve given more than 16 years of my life to my pursuit of fame and fortune on the airwaves. I’m not sad – I realize now I got tired of how the business has become (and deteriorated) since I began in the summer of 1995. I did what I set out to do, won some awards, moved up markets quickly, and found my home in Indianapolis. That’s enough for me.

Instead, I’m moving to marketing/PR/social media. I’m thrilled and excited. 

What I’m finding is with age certainly does come wisdom. In times of crisis, you learn who your friends are and who will stick by you. You learn how love is all around you, even if you’re a hot mess. You learn who will be honest and who won’t. You learn that not every bad thing that happens is bad. It’s just merely a larger step to something good.

So, on this Valentine’s Day, remember to love yourself first. Because, in the words of RuPaul, “if you can’t love yourself, how in the hell are you gonna love someone else?”

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, roller derby, running, and whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

