The Real Deal

As of late, I’ve been seeing a trend of people posting hourly updates about their lives, touting a busy schedule and “meetings” galore.

It got me thinking, is it for real? Meaning, is this person truly that busy or are they simply using the old trick of smoke and mirrors to inflate their own importance?

I don’t personally twitter every time I have a meeting or interview because, honestly, it’s no one’s business but my own. I am truly so busy I don’t have time to sit on the social network and talk about my importance. If you’re following me or know me, you already know what I’m capable of and how hard I work. I don’t need to tell you.

I also don’t take my phone everywhere (the elliptical machine in my den is a phone-free zone).

That being said, I do have a bit of news to share: Later this month, I’ll begin hosting the “Fashion Wrap Up” YOUTUBE Channel!  Each week, we’ll bring you a sneak peak into the world of fashion and beauty! I’m thrilled to be taking this on, as I continue my search for full-time work. I believe, when you’re out of work, everything can become an opportunity for growth and a great addition to a resume. I’m not so concerned about money as much as I am about pursuing my passions and putting my talents to good use.

Which maybe is why I fail to understand people who turn around and throw those who gave them these opportunities under the bus. That’s not professional or even nice!

Maybe I was just raised better than that.

Maybe I’ve surrounded myself with positivity and great people who are passionate about life.

Maybe I know what hard work truly means.

Maybe I know this will all pay off down the road.

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, roller derby, running, and whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Real Deal

  1. Great post Devon! I agree with you 100%. I believe that people who constantly tweet and update Facebook about how busy they allegedly are, are truly just blowing smoke.

    Excited about the Fashion Wrap Up You Tube channel too! With your years of TV and radio training combined with the passion for fashion it’s going to be a wonderful adventure!

    Bring on 2012!!

    Xo – Christy

Leave a Reply

