Nightwatch: Day One

Tonight begins a 12-day stint as an overnight Assignment Editor at Fox 59 (not in a row, but I’ll be here for the next two nights and then two weeks straight).

Yes, I am still searching for full-time employment.

I bet you’re wondering what happens between the hours of 11 pm and 7 am on a weeknight.

Well, sometimes it’s quiet and all the criminal mice are sleeping. Other nights, it’s shenanigans a-plenty.

Some nights, it’s fun to listen to scanner traffic and the quips coming from police and emergency responders (their jobs are 24-hours, like this one). I’ve heard singing, cussing, orders for the Taco Bell drive-through (one of the few operations open at this time of night).

Tonight, it’s been a flipped over semi, an ex-boyfriend terrorizing his most recent ex-girlfriend by smashing in her car windows, and many many calls of shots fired.

This job has its moments, but it is always fascinating (if not newsworthy).

Earlier, I was bemoaning the fact that I feel as though I lack direction. I have a tendency to worry a lot about the actions/words of people who don’t count (in the grand scheme of it all).

Yes, I have no full-time employment. But, I’m trying and applying every day. I’m taking the opportunities afforded me.

I’m not trying to mask my situation by smoke and mirrors and buzz words. I’m just a woman with a zest for life who has talent and drive and is trying very hard to claw her way to a better/brighter future.

Oh, goody – part of the interstate downtown will be closed for awhile.

Happy Thursday commute peeps!

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, running, music, or whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

