Top 10 albums/songs for the year that was…

1. Capsula “In the Land of Silver Souls” – a surprise I got listening to a Hungarian radio station online.  This band combines a bit of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club with a bit of My Bloody Valentine.  The result is driving, passionate, and very rich in sound and scope.  Please visit Indianapolis!

2. The Horrors “Skying”
3. Florence and the Machine “Ceremonials”
4. Ringo Deathstarr “Colour Trip”
5. Beth Ditto “S/T EP”
6. Kaskade “Fire and Ice”
7. Ladytron “Gravity the Seducer”
8. Foster the People “Torches”
9. The Joy Formidable “The Big Roar”
10. Lowline “S/T”

Top Tracks of 2011
1. The Horrors “Still Life”

2. Florence and the Machine “What the Water Gave Me”
3. Beth Ditto “Open Heart Surgery”
4. Foster the People “Pumped Up Kicks”
5. Lowline “Disco Killers”
6. Ringo Deathstarr “Two Girls”
7. Capsula “Under the Woods”
8. Kaskade feat. Skyler Gray “Room for Happiness”
9. Two Door Cinema Club “What You Know”
10. Above & Beyond feat Zoe Johnston “You Got to Go”

Top Album of 2010 (that I didn’t hear until 2011)
Arcade Fire “The Suburbs” – With lyrics like, “I’m moving past the feeling and into the night,” it is no wonder this album received a Grammy for “Album of the Year.”

Best concert of 2011:
Arcade Fire and the National, Pepsi Coliseum, April 2011, Indianapolis, IN.

Cheers to more great music in 2012!

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, roller derby, running, and whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 10 albums/songs for the year that was…

  1. Michelle says:

    I didn’t know you had a blog! Anyway, this was also my favorite concert of 2011. It even beats Muse (who I freakin’ love). The band, the music, the visuals on the screen, the crowd (I almost lost it when they showed the faces of the crowd during “Wake Up”)… all of it just made an incredible show. And to top it off, I had just started seeing someone and held his hand for most of the concert. It was one of the few times I got to share something like this with someone special. I was really happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

