300

“Remember this day, men, for it will be yours for all time.”

Eloquent words from the movie “300.”

Over the weekend, I passed the 300 mark on Twitter for followers.

With no full-time job.

But, here’s the thing: I stayed true to myself. I’m fairly certain that cost me (see previous sentence).

I refuse to change myself, dumb it down, not defend something I believe in, or be something I’m not just to satisfy someone’s insecurities.

If that is indeed true (and given what I’ve learned it would appear so), so be it. I’m proud of who I am and what I’ve done and hope to do. Not everyone is going to like it, but if I’m happy with who I am, then that’s what I care about.

I feel blessed to be surrounded by friends and family and people who do value my abilities and talent.

My father, who is battling cancer (again), said it best: “there are bigger problems out there than what non-consequential people think of you.” He’d be right.

Happy Monday…

By the way, we’ve all heard by now that this is the 20th anniversary of the release of Nirvana’s “Nevermind.” It is also the 20th anniversary of another landmark album, the Smashing Pumpkins’ “Gish.”

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, roller derby, running, and whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 300

  1. Michelle says:

    THIS is my favorite Smashing Pumpkins song! Seriously, I don’t have any Smashing Pumpkins on my current computer EXCEPT for this song, because it’s like a MUST HAVE for me.

Leave a Reply

