Home on the Range

Over the weekend, Mike and I spent some time at the shooting range down at Camp Atterbury (south of Indianapolis, near the Johnson/Bartholomew county line).

Me shooting a .308 at Camp Atterbury. Yes, that IS a Patrick Kane hat!

The range is kept very safe and they adhere to strict rules (as well they should). Eye/ear protection, cease fires, etc.

It’s a very well-run operation.

So, imagine my shock when a couple showed up at the range with two small children (under age three). No ear protection at all.

I’m not a parent. I may never be a parent. I’m okay with this.

However, I do have common sense enough to know that you should leave your infant either at home or with a babysitter when deciding to head to a firing range!

Furthermore, when they were asked to leave, the couple seemed offended. Even if the two small kids had protection, they were both running around behind where the range starts. Which (again common sense here) is extraordinarily dangerous.

Shooting weapons at targets is a great stress reliever (believe me I know).

But, it’s for adults or teens with responsible parents (who are with them and standing behind them, both with eye/ear protection).

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, running, music, or whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

