Manolo Madness

(a case study in shoe obsession)

I, like most women in their late 20s/early 30s, was not familiar with the term “Manolo Blahnik” until the iconic Carrie Bradshaw was sporting these several-hundred dollar beauties on “Sex and the City.”

They remained out of reach, especially for someone with little money.

Until last Friday when I found a pair at the consignment store. I know what you’re thinking – eeeew, why would you want to wear someone else’s shoes? It’s not my fault the person wasn’t smart enough to keep these shoes, whether they’re particular style is en vogue right now or not. By the way, I always think pointy shoes are en vogue because I may have to use them as weapons at some juncture.

Manolos seemed to mimic my own life – my dreams just out of reach. The last 24 hours (and five weeks total) have been a tidal wave of emotion.

I bought the Manolos (total price after discount = $22). I realized again that life is too short NOT to go for what you really want.

On a side note, thanks everyone for your support during this time with my family. It means a lot to me and it makes me know that for every one person who hates me, there are hundreds more who love/care/respect me. That’s all that matters in the end.

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, running, music, or whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

