32 to 33

Yes, I realize it’s not polite for a woman to be asked her age. But, when one chooses to tell you of her own free will…well, then that’s her choice.

I turned 33 last Friday. Over the years, I’ve come to dread my birthdays. Fraught with heartbreak, a car accident, and getting served with legal papers (2009), this year was different. So much has changed in me and for me – I have a job I love, a close group of friends I trust, a healthy lifestyle, a better attitude, and a man I am madly in love with.

With all that in mind, the things I learned from 32 to 33…

-When confronted with the mortality of a loved one, be for them first and your family first. Everything else is secondary.
-I come from a family of fighters.
-Your past should never define you. Your maximum point of power is in the now and the future.
-Mistakes make us grow and learn. Provided first we acknowledge the events as mistakes.
-The elliptical machine IS actually fun.
-Germans make better automobiles.
-Sometimes friends come out of the woodwork when you least expect it.
-Love comes only when your heart is ready. And it still knocks you off your feet.

Here’s to a happy and peaceful 33 to 34!!

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, roller derby, running, and whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

