Horseshoes and Hand Grenades

“I love the smell of napalm in the morning!”~ Apocalypse Now

Last week, I waxed poetic about chemistry between people – which elements balance each other out and so forth.

Today, I ask the question: What if the elements we think go together make a bomb instead of a boquet?

Let’s not kid ourselves – we’ve all had a person (or two or six) in our lives that could level us like a building filled with C4 plastic explosives. Make our hearts race or stop dead and cause unsightly blushing and stuttering.

It’s this combo of scary and seductive all at the same time. Personally, the men who’ve landed in my lap who would qualify in this category are not ones I could date.

If someone renders you speechless, how are you supposed to communicate?

(without a nuclear disaster known as sex)

Three side notes:

1. The loneliness that has often threatened to swallow me has disappeared. I’m rather enjoying this profound change. I think perhaps it signals a maturation I’ve not known.
2. I did not fall off the turnip truck yesterday so if you’re looking to cheat, do us all a favor and look somewhere else. Taking advantage of someone’s emotional vulnerability is mortal sin in my eyes. I’ve been down that road one too many times and trust me I won’t be taking that path again. So, don’t try.
3. I got a new car – wheeee!

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, running, music, or whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

