Come Sit Down…

“Sit down next to me. Come sit down in sympathy.”~James “Sit Down”

A few days ago, a close friend told me, “this woman has been afforded no charity and has fought tooth and nail for everything she has in her life.” To describe me.

Fast-forward to now: my Dad may have a new cancer fight on his hands (possible lymphoma). My first major adult purchase, a 2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS, sits at a Pep Boys in Bloomington, with one broken timing belt and my broken heart. At press time, it appears I will be buying another car. A daunting task in itself.

In my experience, life is not supposed to be easy. Certain things can be easy, but I’ve never had it that way. Sure, my parents spoil me (only child). But, I still bust my ass for everything. My work, my writing, my time, my physical health, everything.

I rarely ask for help. I rarely need help (again – only child mentality).

As I woke up dark/early this morning, I reflected on the last 72 hours and how people came to my aid in unexpected ways. People took care of me when I had reached a point where I had no choice but to ask for aid.

My faith in humanity is restored…at least for now.

By the way, to the douche hobo bags sitting next to us at Old Point Friday night – playing/talking about golf and how badly you want to fuck Alyssa Milano are not ways to show you’re cool or attractive. Furthermore, popped Izod collars died in 1985 at the very latest.

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, running, music, or whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

