Private Eyes?

“Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth.”~ Oscar Wilde

Someone asked me recently how I am comfortable with putting my adventures in my public and private life out in the open for public consumption.

I had to give the answer some thought honestly.

I’m not a psychotherapist (nor do I play one on the radio or TV).

I’m just a girl who feels like she’s crammed a pretty interesting life into 32.5 years on the planet. I’ve seen a lot, I’ve experienced a lot, and I’ve learned more than I could’ve ever predicted.

Nearly ten years ago, my decision to pack up my whole life (in actuality, whatever fit into my ’97 Dodge Neon) and move to New Orleans from Indiana was in doubt.

Why would I take such a risk?

You only live once, that’s why.

Do I share everything? Heaven’s no! I talk to an estimated 200,000 people-plus a day via my job (no clue how many people are reading this, my twitters, my Facebook, and the magazine that has become a labour of love).

The point is, I want single women out there to know they are not alone. It is not easy out there. Wisdom-teeth pulling difficult is putting it mildly.

Finding a good person, let alone a good match or a good relationship, is very hard.

It gets harder with age, wisdom, divorces (yes, I’m divorced), hair color, clothing tastes, etc. We all want the same things – to be cared for and shown affection. Honestly, there are days when all I want is to just be held.

All I can do is share my experiences (anonymously – I will never name names here) and give my thoughts/opinions and hope I help someone in the process.

Don’t take it as gospel or a complete picture of my life.

Just take it as an interesting read.

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, running, music, or whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

