My new blog!

I’ve decided to start a blog.  What about?  Oh, lots of things.  Fashion, music, relationships, etc.

Why would I do this, you ask?  I already write for a successful online fashion magazine (www.fashionwrapup.com) and work as a journalist (if you don’t know where I work by now you haven’t been listening).

My goal is to write here daily about a smattering of whatever is on my mind. 

So here goes…

I’m a 32-year-old single girl living in a big city with a huge shoe collection, an obsession with Betsey Johnson, new wave music, and Gossip Girl. 

Yes, very similar to a certain renowned fictional feminist icon.  Maybe it’s by design, maybe it’s just now the cards have fallen in my direction. 

I begin to wonder what I have to do to prove that I fall into the “good woman” category.  What is classified as “good” these days?

As I get into my 30s, I find there’s no concept of honesty.  Or being up-front.  It’s like a really long chess game – move, counter-move, strategy.  We “omit the facts,” as opposed to being completely honest.  I’m guilty of it too. 

I’ve dated my fair share and heard tale after tale of infidelity (specifically being the root cause of breaking up a marriage), physical/verbal abuse, alcoholism, eating disorders, immaturity, pill-popping, you name it.  Long story short – drama.

In the end, the guys always seem to end up with the girls who have the aforementioned problems. 

The explanation I get (generally) is, “my feelings for her were just stronger.” 

That’s “good?”  Really?  Dysfunctional behavior is suddenly the expected norm for single women?  For men who claim they don’t want drama, all of that seems like….well…drama.

About DevonD29

This is a spot where I muse about life, roller derby, running, and whatever else strikes my fancy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

